Positive Envy

Global Sojourns Photography

Yunnan Red Soil Positive Envy-3

There is an old saying I think about every now and then: “the grass is always greener on the other side.”

Not so much for its meaning of someone desiring something they believe would improve his or her life, yet in reality would not.  Instead, it is because I think about where I am now, and the possibilities of what could be.

Yunnan Red Soil Positive Envy-7

To dream of being in a totally different situation, wondering how great life would be compared to the current situation is intriguing.  The mind is unrealistically focused on what could be gained, with little attention to what would be lost.

A poor example of this: my memory as a kid on a family vacation sitting at a restaurant for breakfast. I would always order the French toast and upon the arrival of the food, look on in envy as my twin sister’s stack of blueberry pancakes taunted me…those pancakes topped with whipped…

View original post 948 more words

About themanabroad

I am themanabroad, known by my friends as James and my colleagues as Zhan Mu Si (Jaa More Suur(James in Chinese)). I have always been enthusiastic about photography and travelling, since school always trying to sign up for photography classes that always got cancelled unfortunately. However, living in China has given me the time and opportunity to combine my two loves, so please come and join me in my life in South-East Asia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Positive Envy

  1. hungrydai says:

    Blueberry pancakes ? You are making me quite hungry here. I have a pack of frozen dried blueberries in the freezer here. I brought them from the UK but I prefer goji berries because they are not as sweet. Morning James. How are you today ?

    Like

    • themanabroad says:

      I am alright thank you, i love blueberries, one of my favourite fruits. There used to be a shop here called metro where i could buy 500g tubs of frozen berries for the equivalent of 5 quid, but the shop closed and now i can’t get them anywhere…sad times! How are you?
      I am not sure if your previous problem with reading my blog was with your end or my end. I have had one or two others say that my blog will not load…though i do not know why that may be…

      Like

      • hungrydai says:

        I’m fine (ish) thanksJames. I’m painting but wish I wasn’t today. Flocky is getting paint all over her somehow. She loves to be with us when we are working. What do you usually drink there, apart from water, coffee and tea I mean?

        Like

      • themanabroad says:

        I drink a lot of protein shakes due to going to the gym a lot. But as far as alcohol is concerned i like single malt whiskey, i currently have a half opened bottle of glenmorangie and aberlower. I like brandy also, red and white wine and sometimes beer depending on the type, i love belgium beer. Yourself?

        Like

      • hungrydai says:

        James, I like beer and wine. I love beer in the summer here when it is ice cold and we even freeze the beer glasses too. On colder evenings I drink either red or white wine. To be honest, most beers taste the same to me although I did find beer watery and not so good in China. We have many brands of excellent beer here in Nepal so we tend to buy whichever is on promotion and we also buy by the carton which helps to keep the price down.

        Like

      • themanabroad says:

        I must say i enjoyed the Nepali beer, the Gorkha in particular was quite delightful! Its a shame you cannot get that out here. I don’t drink a lot of beer out here, tsingtao is the most common here and i think much of it to be honest. And it would surprise me if it was totally watered down, the Chinese are completely merciless when it comes to screwing money from people. There has been a lot of trouble recently with people selling certain foods with drugs in to get people hooked. Also trouble with some people selling rat meat and labeling it as beef.

        Liked by 1 person

      • hungrydai says:

        I’ve been seeing and hearing news snippets about adulterated food on sale there. I’m not much into meat so I doubt if I’d fall for the rat meat. I had Tsingtao Beer several times and once in a Chinese restaurant in Surrey too. The beer favoured by most foreign visitors here in Nepal is ‘Everest’ followed by ‘Heineken’. The beer most favoured by Nepali drinkers is ‘Tuborg’. I wouldn’t be able to taste the difference.

        Like

  2. Dalo 2013 says:

    Cheers James, thanks for the reblog ~ great site you have here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

