Market Day – Part 2 “Turtles, snakes, cats and dogs”

So… market day part 2.

I went down to what I know is a more exotic food market by a beautiful place in the city called West Lake. The last time I came here over a year ago, there were plenty of snakes, even cobra’s. Some of which I saw being skinned which was pretty gnarly! There were piles of different turtles and terrapins and it was very busy with a real buzz in the air.

Unfortunately however this time round it was not quite the same, I was about the only guy walking around and most of the stalls were closed. I went to the place around 4 pm as I couldn’t get there in the morning, but usually over here these places are busy in the mornings and the afternoons, between the hours of 12-2:30 most people are eating and then sleeping through the hottest part of the day, so there is not much point in trying to go between those hours.

I did however get some nice photographs, not just of small parts of the markets, but also some nice photos on my walk home.

untitled (1 of 22)

This particular stall had loads and loads of these littler terrapins and turtles, all shapes and sizes! Considered a bit of a delicacy out here but one that I cannot knowingly say that I have tried. Though I have heard bad things from friends about it! untitled (2 of 22)

This is where you come if you want snake for supper! This guy had a few boxes of snakes all piled in. Last time I came to this market it was here that I saw one snake being skinned!untitled (3 of 22) untitled (4 of 22) untitled (5 of 22)

This little boy below is already starting to learn the family business!untitled (6 of 22)

All these vegetables here are all pickled, and predominantly they put these in a couple of different dishes. One of which is porridge, which out here is made with rice, and is basically overcooked rice with a lot of excess liquid that goes quite starchy. I didn’t used to like it, but since eating a lot of it over Chinese new year I have grown to like it. So you would just cut these vegetables up small and put them in with the porridge. The second thing they use these a lot in are hot pots, which is basically a bowl of piping hot soup  that has a load of vegetables and some meat and tofu in. Real street food and really delicious! They through these pickled vegetables in at the end to add a real sour vinegary flavour.untitled (7 of 22)

Below is all dried seafood; fish, clams, mussels, prawns, oysters, squid and many more.untitled (8 of 22) untitled (9 of 22)

So after I left the market I came out of a small alley to find these little pet shop that had these very cute little puppies and these very sorry looking kittens. The Chinese approach to animal welfare compared to the West is very different, in that there isn’t really any animal welfare here at all!

untitled (10 of 22) untitled (11 of 22) untitled (12 of 22) untitled (13 of 22) untitled (14 of 22)

Below, more puppies. These guys were being sold here for 150RMB each, which is the equivalent of just under 15 pounds.untitled (15 of 22) untitled (16 of 22)

This guy below I thought looked so cool, just chilling out on his massive wheelbarrow. Having a bit of a timeout from the daily grind of road sweeping, watching the old girls playing cards.untitled (17 of 22) untitled (18 of 22)

I was walking along the road listening to my music and minding my own business when this guy in the picture below just started talking to me. So I asked if i could take his photo and he just smiled and carried on chatting away, I took that as a yes!untitled (19 of 22) untitled (20 of 22)

These watermelons looked so good that I decided to buy one as soon as I took this photo. Massive watermelon for the equivalent of just under a pound! So cheap!untitled (21 of 22)

This homeless guy below was just walking towards me holding his trousers up as he was walking.untitled (22 of 22)

 

Well there are my weekly photos, I am sorry that there were not so many of the market itself, but I shall revisit it regularly to try and get some nice photos to show you guys. And I shall try and find some other interesting markets to photograph for you too.

Thank you for reading, and I will catch you next time.

 

-Themanabroad-

About themanabroad

I am themanabroad, known by my friends as James and my colleagues as Zhan Mu Si (Jaa More Suur(James in Chinese)). I have always been enthusiastic about photography and travelling, since school always trying to sign up for photography classes that always got cancelled unfortunately. However, living in China has given me the time and opportunity to combine my two loves, so please come and join me in my life in South-East Asia.
This entry was posted in China, Travel Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Market Day – Part 2 “Turtles, snakes, cats and dogs”

  1. hungrydai says:

    I have to give this five stars as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

