Market Day – Part 1

Welcome back to my blog on China.

Sorry that this post is a couple of days late, I have been very busy and been trying to edit this weeks photos in any free time that I have had!

Well as I said last week, this weeks entry is on my local food market. I have actually decided to make the market theme run for two weeks as the weather here has been terrible and I haven’t been able to get to the market that I really want to show you guys, with all the interesting things!

So for now I am afraid that you are just going to have to settle with a standard market.

These places are just cool, I love going to the markets, they are so interesting and there is a good atmosphere there! Though at this time of year its so humid that it can be a little uncomfortable. And being a foreigner I often have to settle for a marked up price. Often my girlfriend will go to some parts on her own and make me wait behind so’s to try and get a fairer price.

The vegetables and fruit are so fresh there its wonderful, and compared to the UK you can just get a HUGE amount for the equivalent of about 5-10 pounds.

However for all the greatness of the fruit and vegetables, the “butchers” can be rather rank! Depending on the weather there can be a veritable swarm of flies buzzing around, and the conditions that the chickens are kept in would just not be tolerated back in the UK, but i guess that’s just a cultural difference. untitled (14 of 26)My girlfriend always insists on buying meat from the market, even when I protest and tell her that I would rather pay more in the supermarket and make sure that it’s cleaner. However that argument never works!

 

You get these people everywhere on the streets with a trailer on the back of their bike selling fruit off the back of it. Its not strictly legal here, but the fruit you get from these people can be amazing! untitled (3 of 26) untitled (4 of 26)

This is something else that you see a lot of, people like this woman below selling their meager selection of fruit or vegetables on the street floor.  untitled (5 of 26)

This woman in the picture below is selling something called Baozi (bow-dser), which is basically just Chinese bread with some filling inside of it which can be vegetable, spicy, sweet, meat, sweet meat, tofu, bean paste. There is a huge selection, and the multi-coloured selection of bread you can see is called mian bao (meyen bow) which is just the plain bread. The purple one you can see below is taro flavour, the yellow is sweetcorn, and brown is whole wheat.untitled (6 of 26) untitled (7 of 26) untitled (8 of 26) untitled (9 of 26) untitled (10 of 26) untitled (11 of 26) untitled (12 of 26)

Above and below are some things that…to be honest I have no idea what they are. My girlfriend thinks the ones below are a type of pickled vegetable that you can get here, but the ones above she has no idea. The pickled vegetables may look pretty unattractive, but they taste bloody good!untitled (13 of 26)  untitled (15 of 26) untitled (16 of 26) untitled (17 of 26)

This shop below sells a huge array of nuts, dates, tofu’s and tea’s. You can pick up about a kilo of cashew nuts here for about 70RMB, which in the UK is just under 7 pound. And pistachios for a little more, but they are just amazing. I love nuts! untitled (18 of 26) untitled (19 of 26)

Buying meat from these markets is something I hate doing. You see so many Chinese people touching and inspecting the meat, then deciding they don’t want it and put it back. Hygiene standards just do not apply in these places at all.

In contrast to the UK, if you want meat with the bone attached (which is highly preferred here) then you pay a premium. In the UK I used to get free bones from the butcher for my dog!untitled (20 of 26) untitled (21 of 26) untitled (22 of 26)

untitled (23 of 26) untitled (24 of 26) untitled (25 of 26)

This man below and his wife are my regular noodle and soy sauce suppliers, his wife didn’t want a picture, and he didn’t know I was taking one. This really is how he always looks. Completely miserable, his wife on the other hand is always very chatting and friendly.untitled (26 of 26)

 

So there you have it, this is my local food market that I frequent weekly.

I hope to have photo’s next week of a slightly more exotic market, so stay tuned for that one.

Thank you once again,

Themanabroad

About themanabroad

I am themanabroad, known by my friends as James and my colleagues as Zhan Mu Si (Jaa More Suur(James in Chinese)). I have always been enthusiastic about photography and travelling, since school always trying to sign up for photography classes that always got cancelled unfortunately. However, living in China has given me the time and opportunity to combine my two loves, so please come and join me in my life in South-East Asia.
This entry was posted in China, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Market Day – Part 1

  1. Ash Steel says:

    An enjoyable read! Baozi looks awesome. I could find you a far more bleaker / depressing market over here; It’s name begins with a ‘T’…. and ends with ‘esco’. Local traders are great here (in Liverpool) though, I urge people to get out of the super dooper wooper market and into the real one, go at the end of the day and clean up loadsa fresh local produce for pennies.

    Like

    • themanabroad says:

      Hey man, really good to hear from you again, its been a real long time! Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog! I agree, people should definitely by local produce! How are things fairing for you back in the UK?

      Like

  2. hungrydai says:

    What a wonderful blog. I enjoyed seeing these pictures, James. I don’t do well in butcher shops and ours here are a million times worse as you know. In one picture I think I can see goji berry plants in boxes on sale. If I was there I would definitely be buying some of those. I’m a big fan of goji berries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

