Huizhou, my home away from home.

So, as I said at the end of my last post, I would show you some photos of my home away from home.

All these photos were taken in and around Huizhou, which is a city found in the Guangdong Province of southern China. Its roughly 2 hours away from Hong Kong and 2 hours away from Guangzhou.

This city is seen as being one of the cleaner, safer and happier places to live in within China…apparently. What I can say with absolutely certainty is that I have never felt threatened or worried about my personal safety since I have been here.

Anyway, I don’t want to do too much talking, so I shall just show you the photos.

untitled (5 of 19)

I found this old lady rummaging through the bins one day. These old ladies collect anything that can be recycled. Huizhou doesn’t have much in  the way of recycling, but what it does have is a lot of poor people like this woman. For 1 plastic bottle they will be given the equivalent of about 1p. And these woman collect a lot of them. untitled (2 of 19) 9724545684_1717d29dbd_o 10455949264_c0190d3fce_o 10456871015_78c9f64afd_o 10457515953_c978ed92b2_o 10459219343_9d33b13a3c_o

All over Huizhou and other places that i have been too there are these exercise areas where anybody can come and use the apparatus. Mostly you only get old people who go, as all the young people go to the gyms where their are much better facilities. But on this day i enjoyed sitting down and just watching the old folks doing there exercises.10459549486_f5174602b0_o 12398243914_88f71d140b_o

This picture above was taken just before Chinese New Year, this is one of my favorite photos i have taken recently. I don’t however know what any of the writing says unfortunately, but the whole scene seemed very sad at the time to me.untitled (6 of 8) untitled (11 of 35) untitled (13 of 35) untitled (16 of 29) untitled (17 of 35)

I love the contrast of on this photo. The rough old building with the beautiful cat just perched on the window sill.

untitled (21 of 29) untitled (21 of 35) untitled (22 of 35) untitled (24 of 35) untitled (25 of 29) untitled (5 of 11)  untitled (12 of 19)

This is a modern pagoda on top of a place in Huizhou called Gaobang Shan, shan meaning “mountain”. It isn’t really what i would call a mountain as it only really takes about half an hour of relaxed walking to get to the top. Unfortunately, i have yet to find a really nice old, authentic pagoda. untitled (16 of 19) untitled (18 of 19)This is the view from the top of Gaobang Shan out over Red Flower Lake.

 

Okay, so I really just wanted to show you some of my favorite photos that I have taken over the time I have been here really. Next week I will be showing you some photos I took over Chinese New Year.

I sincerely hope you have enjoyed this weeks entry, and stay tuned for next weeks.

 

Thank you all!

 

About themanabroad

I am themanabroad, known by my friends as James and my colleagues as Zhan Mu Si (Jaa More Suur(James in Chinese)). I have always been enthusiastic about photography and travelling, since school always trying to sign up for photography classes that always got cancelled unfortunately. However, living in China has given me the time and opportunity to combine my two loves, so please come and join me in my life in South-East Asia.
This entry was posted in China, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

