Northern Yunnan

So I thought that I would start my second post about my trip last year to Yunnan, I went to the town of Shuhe (shoe-her) close to the very famous place called Lijiang. Lijiang is a modern recreation of very traditional China, although I am sure that the Chinese would like to have you believe that it is completely authentic. During the holiday periods this town is overwhelmed with tourists, to the point where it is hard to enjoy your time there. Shuhe on the other hand is a much smaller and quieter version, however for how long it will stay small and quiet is anyone’s guess. So the intention was that my girlfriend and I would go up to Shangri-La and spend a few days up there. Unfortunately however I got a serious case of food poisoning bought on by something called a Baozi (bow-dsa) which is just a steamed stuffed bun, normally they are delicious. This one however put me out of action for the best part of four days. Rather unfortunate, however you just have to roll with the punches and do the best you can with what you have. So instead of going up so Shangri-La we explored the small town we were staying in, went over to the larger town of Lijiang and went on a horse trek. Here are some photos that I took of my time whilst there, I would like to apologise for some of these photos being a bit rubbish, this was at the beginning of my real photography boom. 9675169811_2ffe51211c_o After going on our horse trekking we had the opportunity to go boating on the lake that we had trekked around. In this middle of the lake was a small floating shack which you can see below. When you get off the boat you are greeted by the fantastic smell of barbecued fish caught from the lake and an assortment of barbecued vegetables. Needless to say however that it cost a bloody fortune. The price I guess for the luxury of eating barbecued food in the middle of a lake. But its something I can tick off my life time achievements list.9675164755_89e3e47583_o9675163479_934bd84810_o Above is the barbecuing king, donning a rather sharp red hat.   The 4 shots below are all taken in the town of Shuhe.9675216115_b2ed4f3b22_o 9675232227_eb3ffe08d1_o 9675234267_c5e03c1c73_o 9678436028_9ddfd21732_o   I love the look of this colourful bunting against the very intense green of the hedges and trees. This little path ran up to a beautiful little temple.9678424048_5b517b070a_o Above and below shots were taken in the town of Lijiang, every night they would dance around this big fire in celebration. I wish I could remember the story behind WHY they were doing this, but i can assure you that it is a suitably impressive and traditional reason. Anyone gathering was invited to dance as well; to which I was unceremoniously dragged in to whilst trying to maintain my British cool composure. The atmosphere though was absolutely amazing, a lot of fun. 9678424892_e8f194f4ce_o  Man and his Barbecue Above was another man turning the meat on his street barbecue. The chinese, anywhere that I have been so far all seem to love this style of cooking. The meat is not the best quality, such that i often find myself avoiding it. But if ever i catch a look at some barbecued tofu, i just can’t resist. The spice mixes they put on them taste unbelievable. If you ever get the opportunity I cannot recommend enough, barbecued tofu. Unless it’s the smelly variety…stay clear of that. You’ll know it if you smell it. All photos were shot on a canon 400D.   Thank you to anyone that has taken the time to read this second post. Next I shall be showing some photos from the town in which I am living in, Huizhou.

About themanabroad

I am themanabroad, known by my friends as James and my colleagues as Zhan Mu Si (Jaa More Suur(James in Chinese)). I have always been enthusiastic about photography and travelling, since school always trying to sign up for photography classes that always got cancelled unfortunately. However, living in China has given me the time and opportunity to combine my two loves, so please come and join me in my life in South-East Asia.
This entry was posted in China, Travel Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

